In a resounding celebration of their exceptional regular-season performance, the Ohio State women’s basketball team dominated the Big Ten awards ceremony, with head coach Kevin McGuff leading the charge as the Coach of the Year. The announcement came on Tuesday as the Big Ten, alongside the media, unveiled their season-ending accolades for women’s basketball, acknowledging the outstanding contributions of the Buckeyes throughout the season.

For Coach Kevin McGuff, this recognition marks a significant achievement, as he secured the Big Ten Coach of the Year title for the first time since taking the reins of the program in 2013. McGuff’s leadership has been instrumental in guiding Ohio State to an impressive regular-season conference record.

McGuff’s accolade holds historical significance, as he becomes the first Ohio State women’s basketball coach to claim the coveted award since Jim Foster’s win in 2009. Foster, a four-time recipient of the Coach of the Year honor, left an indelible mark on the programs.

Individual players from Ohio State also shone brightly in the awards ceremony, with Jacy Sheldon leading the way. Sheldon not only showcased her skill on the court but also exemplified sportsmanship, earning her the Sportsmanship Award. Additionally, she secured a spot on both the first-team selections by both coaches and media and the all-defensive team, as voted by the media.

Celeste Taylor’s exceptional defensive prowess did not go unnoticed, as she was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year by the coaches. Taylor’s contributions on the court were further recognized with her inclusion in the All-Defensive team and a second-team all-conference nod from both coaches and media.

Cotie McMahon continued the Buckeyes’ dominance in the awards, earning a well-deserved place on the All-Big Ten first-team, recognized by both the coaches and media. Taylor Thierry secured a second-team position from both groups, while Rebeka Mikulášiková received an honorable mention from the media.

With this array of talent, Ohio State heads into the Big Ten tournament as the top seed, reflecting their dominant regular-season performance. The Buckeyes are set to return to action on Friday with a 12:30 tip-off, eagerly awaiting the winner between #8 Maryland and #9 Illinois.