“Iron sharpeneth iron,” the age-old proverb, holds true in the competitive world of college football. At Ohio State University, this adage is not just a saying but a guiding principle that propels the Buckeyes to excellence. The culmination of the winter workouts brings with it the announcement of the coveted Iron Buckeye Award winners for 2024, recognizing players who have displayed exceptional work ethic, dedication, determination, toughness, leadership, and personal gains in the weight room.

The rigorous selection process for the Iron Buckeye Award is overseen by Ohio State’s esteemed strength and conditioning coach, Mickey Marotti, and his dedicated staff. They meticulously evaluate players across various categories, ensuring that only those who have excelled in every aspect of their training are honored with this prestigious award.

In the previous season, Ohio State celebrated the achievements of eight outstanding Buckeyes with the Iron Buckeye Award. However, this year, the bar was set higher, and only three remarkable individuals stood out from the rest.

Josh Fryar – Offensive Lineman: In the upcoming season, Josh Fryar, entering his final chapter at Ohio State, promises a tremendous impact after securing the Iron Buckeye Award. As the starting right tackle last season, Fryar’s recognition indicates an imminent stellar performance. Paired with the veteran leadership of Donovan Jackson and transfer Seth McLaughlin, the Buckeyes are poised for substantial improvements on the offensive line in the 2024 campaign.

Sonny Styles – Linebacker: Sonny Styles, having accelerated his Ohio State journey by reclassifying after his junior year in high school, emerged as a force to be reckoned with in the 2023 season. Originally positioned as a safety, Styles recorded an impressive 53 tackles, two sacks, and one forced fumble. The move to linebacker for the spring underscores his versatility and commitment, earning him the coveted Iron Buckeye Award.

Davison Igbinosun – Cornerback: Davison Igbinosun, a transfer from Ole Miss after a standout freshman year in the SEC, solidified his place among the Buckeye elite with the Iron Buckeye Award. Teaming up with Densel Burke in 2023, Igbinosun exhibited exceptional prowess, tallying 59 tackles, 5 pass deflections, and 2 fumble recoveries at the cornerback position. Coach Tim Walton’s guidance propelled Igbinosun to new heights, setting the stage for another outstanding season.

As Ohio State Football proudly announces the Iron Buckeye Award winners for the 2024 winter workouts, the legacy of excellence and commitment to greatness continues. Josh Fryar, Sonny Styles, and Davison Igbinosun epitomize the qualities that define a Buckeye – dedication, determination, and the relentless pursuit of excellence. As these players carry the Iron Buckeye torch into the upcoming season, Ohio State fans eagerly anticipate the impact they will undoubtedly make on the field.